Last night, anyone see KP "bowl" the last ball before the third new ball? While watching several replays a couple of the commentators thought it was a jolly wheeze and joked about dodgy doosras. But Athers, taking a censorious perspective, wondered what the square leg umpire was up to. Either way - bungled doosra or chuckleworthy byplay at 5/574 - it was a rank chuck, to which the umpire at the non-striker's end was totally oblivious.
No one seemed much interested in what might have happened had it taken a wicket. Would the arm action have been included in everyone's favourite referral process? Harper: "Didn't overstep, pitched in line, would have hit... but by the way, KP chucked it like a girl." Tiffin: "Well, we can't include the chuck in the referral, so it's out."
Do you think Sarwan, Ramdin and John Dyson would have appreciated the joke?